I FOUND A LITTLE BEETLE

I found a little beetle so that beetle was his name

And I called him Alexander and he answered just the same

I put him in a matchbox and I kept him all the day

And Nanny let my beetle out

Yes Nanny let my beetle out and beetle ran away

She went and let my beetle out

And beetle ran away

She said she didn’t mean it

And I never said she did

She said she wanted matches

And she just took off the lid

She said that she was sorry

But it’s difficult to catch

An excited sorted of Beetle you’ve mistaken for a match

She said that she was sorry and I really mustn’t mind

As there’s lots and lots of beetles which she’s certain we will find

If we looked about the garden for holes where beetles hid

And we’d get another matchbox and write BEETLE on the lid

We went to all the places which a beetle might be near

And we made the sort of noises which a beetle likes to hear

And I saw a kind of something

And I gave a sort of shout

A BEETLE HOUSE and Alexander Beetle coming out

It was Alexander Beetle I am certain as can be

And he had a sort of look as if he thought it must be ME

And he had a sort of look as if he thought he ought to say

I’m very very sorry that I tried to run away

And Nanny’s very sorry too for you know what she did

And she’s writing ALEXANDER very blackly on the lid

So Nan and me are friends because … It’s difficult to catch

An excited ALEXANDER you’ve mistaken for a match

(Written by AA MILNE)

Leave a Reply

