ELEPHANT

Its quite unfair to be

obliged to be so large, so I suppose

you could call me discontented.

Think big, they said, when

I was a little elephant, they wanted to get me used to it.

It was kind, But it doesn’t help if

inside you are carefree in small ways

fond of little amusements.

You are smaller than me , think

how conveniently near the flowers are

how you can pat the cat by just

halfbending over. You can also

arrange teacups for dolls, play

marbles in the proper season.

I would give anything to be

to do a tiny, airy, flitting

dance to show how very little a

thing happiness can be.

(Written by Alan Brownjohn)

 

Leave a Reply

