RED SHOES

When I saw them

In the magazine

I knew I had to have them

Red shoes

With tiny bows on the back

And straps that formed an X

They were the shoes

I had been dreaming of

Red shoes to dance and skip

And jump and hop in

Pretty red shoes

Please Mummy, pretty please

Can I have them?

May I have these red shoes?

Shiny shoes

They are just my size

Pretty pretty please

Can I have these red shoes

These shoes that say put me on?

I wear them out the store

And once home

I run and show

Them to my friends

I slept in them that first night

I skipped in them all the next day

I danced on my tippy toes

I even climbed a tree in them

After a week my red shoes

didn’t look new any more

But I did love them

My first red shoes!

 

(Written by Opal Palmer Adisa)

 

Leave a Reply

