JACK O’ THE INKPOT

I dance on your paper

I hide in your pen

I make in your ink-stand

My little black den

And when you’re not looking

I hop on your nose

And leave on your forehead

The marks of my toes

When you are trying to finish

Your “i” with a dot

I slip down your finger

And make a big blot

And when you are so busy

To cross a big “t”

I make on the paper

A little Black Sea

I drink blotting-paper

Eat penwiper pie

You never can catch me

You never need try

I leap any distance

I use any ink

I’m onto your fingers

Before you can wink

(Written by Algernon Blackwood)

Leave a Reply

