I REMEMBER I REMEMBER

I remember I remember

The house where I was born

The little window where the sun

Came peeping in at morn

He never came a wink too soon

Nor brought too long a day

But now I often wish the night

Had borne my breath away

I remember I remember

The roses red and white

The violets and the lily-cups

Those flowers made of light

The lilacs where the robin built

And where my brother set

The laburnum on his birthday

The tree is living yet

I remember I remember

Where I was used to swing

And thought the air must rush as fresh

To swallows on the wing

My spirit flew in feathers then

That is so heavy now

And summer pools could hardly cool

The fever on my brow

I remember I remember

The fir trees dark and high

I used to think their slender tops

Were close against the sky

It was a childish ignorance

But now tis little joy

To know I’m farther off from Heav’n

Than when I was a boy

(Written by Thomas Hood)

Leave a comment