DIVORCE : A SPELL TO PREVENT IT

If I avoid the lines and cracks

Between the paving stones

If I leap from the small dark island

Left by a recent shower

To the safe shore of its neighbouring continent

Then it won’t happen

If I leave nothing on my plate

If I find each lost toy

And every stray piece of paper

If I behave with no more emotion

Than the clothes I wear

If like them I lurk in cupboards

Silent and out of the way

Then it won’t happen

If I say I’m sorry

If I take the blame

If I tell them it’s my fault

If I pray and pray and give up chocolate

Then it won’t happen

If I could invent a joke

Which will make them both laugh

Perhaps it won’t

If I ignore it

It won’t happen

If I try harder

It won’t happen

If I am perfect

It won’t happen

(Written by Lindsay MacRae)

 

Leave a Reply

