FISHY

Great Uncle Morissey,  Dad and Mum

Were drowsing in deck chairs in the sun

“Run off and play” they said to me

“Make sand pies till it’s time for tea”

I was fetching some water in my pale

When I came across a lady with a long fishy tail

Sitting by a pool on a sea weedy shelf

Singing softly all by herself

When I asked if she’d care to take some tea

With Great Uncle Morissey, Dad, Mum and me

She lashed up the water, shook out her hair

Sent a thousand droplets into the air

And I just caught sight of the tip of her fin

As she whisked up her tail and dived right in

When I asked Uncle Morissey if he would wish

To meet a lady who was half a fish

He only yawned and said he’d seen plenty

When he was a lad back in 1920

(Written by Shirley Hughes)

 

Leave a Reply

