I LOVE MY MATATU

This is my matatu

and I love my matatu

I shall fill it with

stacks of human beings

to the brim

I shall make more money

enough to pay for

the matatu loan

the mutatu insurance

the profit…

not to mention my

official and non official pay

my matatu never gets full

There is always space

for one more

we all travel seated standing, kneeling and

bottoms up

the fat travellers have a tendency

to take up much more space

remind me to leave them out

next time

tell them to take the bus

(Written by Cecilia Muhoho – Kenya)

Leave a Reply

