TREASURE TROVE

I have a tin

To keep things in

Underneath

My bedroom floor

I put my finger

In the crack

Quietly lift

The floorboard back

And there’s my store

Safely hid

In a tin with roses on the lid

A few feathers

And a chicken’s claw

A big tooth

From a dinosaur

The wrapper from my Easter egg

A Christmas robin

With one leg

Long hairs

From a horse’s mane

Real pesetas

Come from Spain

Three of my operation stiches

Like spiders

Wrapped in bandages

A marble

Full of dragon smoke

Flashing with fire

In the dark

A magic pebble

Round and white

A sparkler left

From bonfire night

(Written by Irene Rawnsley)

 

 

Leave a Reply

